Jazz at The Kreeger Museum

In collaboration with Elijah Jamal Balbed, The Kreeger Museum is honored and thrilled to present, Jazz at The Kreeger Museum, a new series that furthers our mission to share music across the city. This series supports and spotlights the wealth of musical talent in our metropolitan area.

EJB Quartet

Saturday, December 18 | 3:30pm-4:15pm

Tickets | $25

Select pay what you can tickets are available upon request. Contact education@kreegermuseum.org to learn more.

This program will take place indoors.

Proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 is required for all individuals 12 and older to attend all programs and events at The Kreeger Museum.

Masks are required in all indoor spaces regardless of vaccination status in all indoor spaces at The Kreeger Museum.

About the Artists

Elijah Jamal Balbed is one of the premiere Jazz Artists in Washington, DC. He has been named Best Tenor Saxophonist and Best New Jazz Musician by the Washington City Paper, and has had several media features including Capital Bop, Smithsonian Magazine, OnTap Magazine (now District Fray), and The Washington Post. An alumnus of the legendary Jazz Studies program at Howard University, Elijah has established himself as a versatile musician with several musical projects and endeavors. Elijah has participated in residencies such as Betty Carter Jazz Ahead Program (2013), Strathmore Artist-in-Residence (2014), 202Creates (2018), to name a few. In 2018 & 2019, Elijah traveled to Russia leading two different bands on cultural diplomacy tours sponsored by the U.S. State Department. In 2019 Elijah's Jazz/Go-Go band "The JoGo Project" won the WAMMIE Award for "Best New Go-Go Song". The EJB Quartet were the winners of the 2020 DC Jazz Prix for their performance of Elijah's acclaimed body of work "The Karma Suite" - a series of compositions reflecting on the current state of affairs in the world. For more information go to www.ejbjazz.com or follow on social media @ejbjazz.

Elijah Jamal Balbed - Saxophones

Mark G Meadows - Piano

Tommy Cecil - Bass

Kelton Norris - Drums